Xykon’s Weblog
Thoughts from a programmer on Java, Ruby and C#.net

Netbeans 6.1RC bug

I finally came around to finding a strange bug (I almost thought it wasn’t possible :)).  And it’s not just a bug in the 6.1 release but was actually carried over from 6.0.1.  It’s not really a big deal just a strangeness and I haven’t yet figured out what causes it.

When I open one of the panels that I designed with the GUI builder, the file immediately becomes marked as “edited”.  When I close it, it actually asks me if I want to save the changes or discard them.  And whatever I do, it always happens again the next time I open it.  If I just save and close, subversion won’t see any changes made in the file, so I beleave some value is updated when loading the form but not saved when saving/closing the file.  So no changes are actually written to disk but it’s still registered as a change that triggers the mechanism determining that the file got changed.

I guess I have to go back in my subversion history to see what exactly I did to come upon this bug so I can report it to be fixed, as so far I have no clue.

Other than that I didn’t notice any problems with the new release, and am eager to await it’s release to be able to use it professionally (my boss doesn’t like me using beta stuff).

No Responses to “Netbeans 6.1RC bug”

Leave a Reply

